Home » Doctors of the Church » Ambrose of Milan » Holy Thursday: Lord Jesus, Wash Not Only My Feet…

Holy Thursday: Lord Jesus, Wash Not Only My Feet…

Holy Thursday

“Come, then, Lord Jesus, put off Your garments, which You put on for my sake; be stripped that You may clothe us with Your mercy. Gird Yourself for our sakes with a towel, that You may gird us with Your gift of immortality. Pour water into the basin, wash not only our feet but also the head, and not only of the body, but also the footsteps of the soul. I wish to put off all the filth of our frailty, so that I also may say: “By night I have put off my coat, how shall I put it on? I have washed my feet, how shall I defile them (Song 5:3)?”  How great is that excellence! As a servant, You wash the feet of Your disciples; as God, You send Dew from heaven.”  (St. Ambrose, On the Holy Spirit)

Evening Mass of the Lord’s Supper. The washing of the disciples feet:

Jesus Washing the Feet of Apostle Peter

Jesus, knowing that the Father had given all things into His hands, and that He had come forth from God, and was going back to God, rose from supper, and laid aside His garments; and taking a towel, He girded Himself about. Then He poured water into the basin, and began to wash the disciples’ feet, and to wipe them with the towel with which He was girded. And so He came to Simon Peter. He said to Him, “Lord, do You wash my feet?” Jesus answered and said to him, “What I do you do not realize now, but you shall understand hereafter.” Peter said to Him, “Never shall You wash my feet!” Jesus answered him, “If I do not wash you, you have no part with Me.” Simon Peter said to Him, “Lord, not my feet only, but also my hands and my head.” (John 13:3-9)

